THE UNIVERSITY OF WESTERN ONTARIO DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH and WRITING STUDIES ENGLISH STANDING COMMITTEES

July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026

COMMITTEES ESTABLISHED BY THE COLLECTIVE AGREEMENT

Appointments Committee

M. Fox, Chair (EDI Representative)

N. Bhatia

J. Devereux

A. Pero

M. Rowlinson

Alternate

M. McDayter

Graduate student

TBA

Performance Evaluation Committee

M. Fox, Chair (EDI Representative)

Full-Time Members to 2026

R. Moll

K. Stanley

J. Toswell

J. Wlodarz

Limited-Duties Member with Standing Appointment to 2026, renewable

N. Joseph

Alternates (FT)

M. Bassnett

J. Purkis

Alternate (PT)

M. Hartley

Promotion and Tenure Committee

I. Paul, Acting Dean of Arts & Humanities and Chair of Committee

Department Members

M. Fox, Chair (EDI Representative)

M. Jones (to 2026)

M. Raine (to 2026)

A. Pero (to 2028)

External Members

Emily Ansari, Music (to 2027)

Leclerc, Jean (to 2028)

Kim Clark (to 2028)

COMMITTEES ESTABLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT

Committee on Graduate Studies

M.H. McMurran, Chair of CGS (to 2026)

N. Bhatia (to 2027)

A. *Pero* (to June 2027)

P. Wakeham (to 2026)

A. Schuurman, Chair of CUS (to 2026) (observer)

Graduate Development and Placement Coordinator

K. Stanley (to 2026)

GES Co-Chairs

Committee on Undergraduate Studies

A. Schuurman, Chair of CUS (to 2026) (also A&H rep to E.P.C.)

MJ Kidnie (to 2027)

J. Devereux (to 2026)

J. Doelman (to 2026)

M.Rowlinson (to 2027)

K. Solga (to 2027)

MH McMurran, Graduate Chair (observer)

M. Raine, Film Studies Coordinator (ex officio)

Undergraduate student, Coterie President

TBA

Committee for Theatre Studies

M. Fox, Chair (ex officio)

A. Schuurman, Chair of CUS (to 2026) (ex officio)

MJ Kidnie (to 2027)

A. MacLean (to 2026)

K. Solga (to 2027)

Nominations Committee

R. Moll (to 2026)

A. Lee (to 2027)

K. Solga (to 2026)

Committee on Equity

N. Bhatia (to 2027)

A. MacLean (to 2026)

J. Schuster (to 2026)

Committee on Visiting Speakers Series

P. Wakeham (Vice Chair) (ex officio)

M. Bassnet (to 2027)

N. Bhatia (to 2026)

J. Boulter (to 2027)

M. McDayter (to 2027)

Graduate Student

TBA

Committee on Undergraduate Awards

A. Schuurman, Chair of CUS (to 2026) (ex officio)

J. Johnston, Undergraduate Program Director - Writing Studies (to 2026) (ex officio)

G. Ceraldi (to 2026)

M. Green-Barteet (to 2027)

R. Moll (to 2027)

J. Toswell (to 2026)

Committee on Film Studies

M. Raine, Film Studies Coordinator (to 2028)

A. Schuurman, Chair of CUS (to 2026) (ex officio)

J. Blankenship (to 2027)

J. Nagl (to 2027)

A. Pero (to 2026)

Committee on Weldon Library

Department Committees 2025-26 (3)

M. Lee (July-Dec 2025) M.H. McMurran (to 2027) J. Wlodarz (Jan-June 2026) TBA (to 2027)

Graduate Student

TBA

The committee shall elect its Chair/and Department rep to A&H Library Committee at its first meeting

Awards and Distinctions Committee (Faculty of Arts & Humanities)

TRA

UWOFA Union Representatives

Full-time Member

M. McDayter (to 2026)

Limited-Duties Member with Standing Appointment [also LD rep to A&H Council]

M. Hartley (to 2026)